St George’s School provides a broad and balanced curriculum in line with the New National Curriculum (2014), which involves a range of activities organised to allow for personal and academic growth and development. We aim to include a range of activities off site, in order to enrich the learning experience of the children. Developing individuals as learners for life and responsible citizens is at the centre of our curriculum.

We aim for high standards of teaching and learning, which we continually seek to improve.  We aim to set achievable, challenging targets for individual children and to help every child to progress on their learning journey, fulfilling their potential.

An outline of the curriculum to be covered by each child is shared with children and parents at the beginning of each term.

THE NATIONAL CURRICULUM consists of a number of subjects which primary children must study and you can find out more about those on the pages here. The whole curriculum of our school encompasses environmental studies, health education, citizenship and personal and social education.

The work for each child is carefully planned to ensure continuity and progression. Whole class teaching, group work and individual tuition and investigation are all used as methods of learning within our school.

We believe children learn best through:

  • Active child initiated learning which allows pupils to be independent and to explore
  • An integrated whole curriculum style which allows for extended periods of time for children to become absorbed in activities
  • Planned and free access to activities both inside and outside
  • Flexibility to accommodate individual needs and interests, recognising that boys and girls learn differently
  • A good balance of individual, small group and whole class activities.
  • Adult intervention and assessment based on close observation of children’s learning.

Learning at Foundation Stage and Key Stage One –  Hedgehogs is set up for child initiated learning and focused teacher input. We aim to develop the children’s skills, encouraging them to become independent thinkers and learners.

The Foundation Stage curriculum is planned through seven areas of learning:

Prime Areas:-

  • communication & language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

Specific Areas:-

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • problem solving, reasoning and numeracy
  • understanding the world
  • expressive Art & Design

At Key Stage One, through topic themes promoting cross curricular links, all children cover the objectives of the foundation subjects of the National Curriculum and the four guiding principles that shape practice within our Early Years setting:

  • every child is unique
  • children learn through positive relationships
  • children learn & develop in enabling environment
  • children develop & learn in different ways & different rates

Learning at Key Stage Two – At Key Stage Two, Literacy and Numeracy is taught daily. There is also specialist teaching in Music and P.E. which occurs weekly as does Computing, PHSE, Citizenship and Languages.

All other subjects are taught within topics over a half term wherever possible. As a result, coherent links can be made in learning, broadening the pupil’s understanding. This in turn leads to better investigative skills, better quality of work and higher standards.